No means No

10/06/2019

Why is it when a girl or boy of any age says no its seen as the worst thing thry could have said. Why do we always have to say yes just to be considered polite. Even when the option we are saying no to goes against our values or is setting off warning bells in our head. It saddens me to see so many people out there feeling like they have to give someone a fake number just to keep from being sworn at or pressured just for saying no.

I know some may say well why not just say no and ignore them. Well to you i say its not that easy. Especially when you are on a bus with them, and the person gives you a sob story of not having any friends than asking if you will be their friend only to ask for your number after you agree to be their friend. On one hand if you say no you could come across as a major jerk after just agreeing to be this persons friend. On the other hand if you say yes than now this complete stranger who you are not intrested in now has your number. This is an experience i had while at college, but unlike the other people out there i couldn't pretend i didn't have a phone since he could clearly see it in my hand, and i couldn't give him a fake number ethier because he gave me his number and had me text him so he would have mine. So of course i felt trapped into a corner, and i know i am not the only one who feels this way ethier. A lot of people both men and women find themselves in this situation where they feel they can't say no without coming across. as a major jerk. I ended up giving him my number but i blocked his number later on after he started swearing at me for clarifying that i only saw him as a friend when i kept getting the impression that he was hoping for more. Especially since he asked me to be his valentine at one point. Yes I know I never should have given him my number in the first place but I was young and naive back than. I am a nice person so its hard for me to say no but I have learned since than that saying no and upsetting one person is better than saying yes and feeling uncomfortable or unsafe. I guess you can say I am fluttershy from my little pony: friendship is magic. haha. ;)

So everyone if you ever end up in a situation where you are extremely uncomfortable and feel as though you are backed into a corner don't be afraid to be rude. Its better to be a jerk and be safe than end up with a crazed stalker on your tail. Never feel as though you have to say yes just to make someone happy. If you are uncomfortable or don't want to than that is the only explanation you need. No means No.


No
(A Poem I wrote.) 
 

Rude.

Stuck up

Brat

These are a few of the things I've been called.

Is it because I mocked and teased?

Is it because I shouted and hit?

Is it because I made someone bleed?

No I did none of those things.

Rather it is because I said No.

Because I said no to adding you on Facebook.

No to letting you be my valentine.

No to giving you my number.

Does that make me rude.

Am I a Brat just because I rather not?

Is it true I am stuck up for saying no?

Is yes really the only way to go?

Even if I say it nicely?

Why though?

Why can't I reject and still be polite?

Why must my anwser always be Alright.

Why can't I say no and still be a friend.

Why must I say yes when I really want it to end.

I mean no harm.

I don't mean to hurt.

Yet the moment your mouth opens.

The minute the question is asked.

The only acceptable anwser.

The only one you will accept.

Is Yes.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started